Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Thoughts About Powdered Milk

I don't know about you but I was raised in the 70's. I had one friend, just one, whose mother used powdered milk. I just remember it as being vile tasting. I swore I'd never use it. I raised my son on a very limited budget and still was able to not even consider using powdered milk.

When milk (and all other grocery) prices started edging up and my husband's paycheck wasn't cutting it anymore we began to reassess our priorities. I had ALWAYS purchased organic milk. So I switched to non-organic milk to save a few bucks. But my girls seem to drink a lot of milk. I have never been fond of milk and my husband is lactose intolerant. My son, when he is here (he moved into his own apartment last year), only likes whole milk and I have bought skim milk since my youngest turned 2.

When the girls started going through spurts of milk drinking I found that we were wasting a lot of milk some weeks and other weeks we'd go through more than we could keep in stock. I'd find myself running up to the store (wasting time & gas) to buy more. I didn't want to buy more than our normal amount during my weekly shopping trip because I didn't want it to spoil if it was one of our "off milk" weeks.

So I thought I'd give powdered milk a try. I bought a box. I have to admit I was embarassed to purchase powdered milk. I had always pictured powdered milk as something that was associated with "government cheese". I was raised in an upper middle class neighborhood and it's difficult sometimes to humble yourself enough to accept that your life is not exactly as you pictured it to be.

I washed out the half gallon plastic bottle that we had just finished with milk and sneakily made the powdered milk after the kids went to bed that night. The next morning, they both wanted milk and neither of them detected any difference. OK! I thought, this might work until our finances get back on track. Every little bit helps afterall. Sometimes I'd buy regular milk and if it was a big milk drinking week, I'd mix up a bit of powdered milk and we'd be good to go until the next planned grocery trip. So, I was saving not only in the overall cost of milk but also I was saving gas and time by not having to do those late night "oh my gosh, we're not going to have enough milk to make it through tomorrow morning" trips.

I finally bought a glass half gallon container at Walmart and I now am completely using powdered milk. My kids drink chocolate milk most of the time so they really don't have a clue. Even when they drink it plain they've never said anything about the taste being different (and they're both pretty particular).

By no means do I plan on using powdered milk for the long term. But during this time of financial crisis for us, it has been a real blessing.

A couple of tips if you decide to try powdered milk:

Use a glass container. It cleans easier and won't hold odors. Also, the top is larger so it is neater when pouring the milk powder into it. I picked one up at Walmart for $5. When I go back to organic milk I can use the glass container for juice.

If you can, make it the night before and let it sit in the fridge. It tastes better if it's allowed time to develop and get very cold.

You can mix reconstituted milk with whole milk. It doesn't alter the flavor/consistency of whole milk much and it will save you some money and get the family used to the idea.

One final thought, powdered milk is excellent to have around the house if you do a lot of baking. So, when you are able to go back to organic milk for drinking, keep some powdered milk around for baking and emergencies (like ice storms).


Blessings,

Karen

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Lights Out

I live in a dark house. Well, at night it's dark. I suffer from really horrible migraines which can be triggered by lights. So I don't turn on a lot of lights at night. Only the absolutely necessary lights get turned on. I keep my house dimly lit which not only helps to prevent migraines but it also helps save on energy bills. And those compact fluorescent lightbulbs are actually bigger migraine triggers than regular bulbs.

Now by no means and I suggesting that you live in darkness. But I am suggesting that you be more aware of the lighting in your home. Check around, can you turn off a light or two. No, it's not going to make a HUGE dent in your electrical bill but it will help a little. And it is better for the environment. Anytime you save energy it's better for the environment.

Isn't it interesting that when you are consciously and practically frugal you are living a 'greener' life? Perhaps our planet is in the state that it's in today because of our less-than-frugal lifestyles. As someone who reached adulthood in the 80's I was accustomed to having 'waste' and didn't think anything of throwing things away.

For years I heard about my parents' childhood and how frugal they had to live. Both survived the great depression. As a teenager and young adult I thought they were ridiculous for being so 'cheap'. As an adult who is now faced with miniscule paychecks and ever rising grocery and gas prices (among other things) I am now very thankful for the lessons I was taught by my parents. I only wish I had put them into use earlier.

If we all practiced frugality a little more not only would we have more money at the end of the month (which we should put away towards our children's education and our retirement) but we'd also be doing the planet a great favor. Afterall, our charge is to be good stewards of what God has given to us. And we have been less than stellar stewards of the earth for many years.

So, please turn off an extra light tonight. Learn to live with less. You might be surprised at how much happier you are when you live a more simple life. Reuse things. Reduce your usage of other things. And remove items from your home that you don't really need (have a yard sale!).

Blessings,

Karen

Monday, August 25, 2008

Recipe for the Day

This is a family favorite and a classic freezer recipe. I have adapted it a bit to lower the fat and improve the nutrition:

Pizza Pasta Casserole - Makes 2 large casseroles.

1 lb ground beef
1 lb ground turkey
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 cans of spaghetti sauce (I use Hunt's Garlic & Herb)
1 box of whole wheat spiral pasta, cooked & drained
3C of shredded low fat mozzarella cheese
1pkg (8oz) pepperoni

Brown ground beef & turkey with onion in a large skillet. Drain and rinse and return to large skillet. Add the spaghetti sauce and noodles and stir well.

Divide mixture in half and put each half in a 9"x13" pan. Top each wtih 1-1/2 C cheese. Top each pan with half of the pepperoni.

Cover & freeze.

To bake, thaw overnight in refrigerator. Preheat oven to 350 and bake for 35-40 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Stockpiling and Coupons

Now that you have an inventory of what you actually have you're ready to go shopping.

I am a believer in stockpiling. That means that I am the one during an ice storm that had plenty of food. Neighbors borrowed things (which is one of the reasons why I stockpile, so that if anyone needs anything I have it). At neighborhood Bunko, I brought real food while others provided pimiento sandwiches because that's all they had in their house. When ice storms hit the Austin-are the roads close down. If you're smart you either are already prepared (me) or you hit up the grocery store a few days before it hits & stock up. If you dare drive to the store you are probably going to be faced with shelves that are empty of the essentials (white bread and milk seem to be the first things to disappear off the shelves).

Stockpiling also means fewer trips to the store. For awhile the suburb that I live in didn't have a grocery store. So we had to drive to the next town to do our shopping. This was at least a 15 minute drive. We now have a grocery store. But for awhile there it was a real pain to go to the store for one or two items that you absolutely needed (like milk and bread). I save gas because I go to the store once every week or two. I get my fresh produce at the big-chain-organic-type-crunchy store that is right near my allergist's office when I get my allergy shots every week. Milk is another blog entry.

At first, I used a lot of coupons. I was determined to buy my brand names. Now that some time has passed and I have learned to get over my brand attachments I don't use them as much because generics/store brands are often cheaper even with a coupon for the brand name. But that is not always a rule so I still clip & organize my coupons weekly and bring them with me to every shopping trip. There are also some things that I refuse to substitute with generics (Heinz Ketchup is a big can't-substitute).

When you initially begin stockpiling and couponing you might need to overcome a few obstacles like I did. The first thing I had to get over was embarassment. I had the wrong attitude. I was raised in SoCal so I had the attitude that you should spend more money than you have. That people are impressed by you spending money on brand names and non-sale items. And if you used a coupon you must be poor. And really, there was nothing more awful than someone thinking you were poor. What a bad thinking that was! Again, I had to get overmyself and accept reality. I had to learn how to live within our means and our means were a lot less since I quit working to raise our daughters and my husband was laid off.

My second big hurdle was that I didn't know how to coupon. Sure, it seems simple enough. You match up what you want to buy with a coupon that you have and that's that. A friend told me about the website www.thegrocerygame.com and that site changed my life. I strongly recommend it. It is worth the nominal fee, you will save way more than the small quarterly charge in your first shopping trip and you will learn how to stockpile while couponing. Which is an awesomely great feeling. Once you're stocked up and have learned how to watch sales and coupon effectively on your own you won't need the help anymore. But it was invaluable to me in the begining.

What should you stockpile? Canned and boxed foods and meat that is on sale (if you have a large enough freezer). I also freeze bread (I am a 100% whole wheat mom and will buy many loaves when it goes on sale and just toss them in my freezer). Cooking supplies are great for stockpiling since you're going to be doing an awful lot of cooking now (which makes for a very happy husband). I also make cookie dough ahead of time and freeze it so we can have fresh, homemade cookies anytime. I own a bread machine and use it almost daily at this point. I stockpile bread and yeast and other breadmaking supplies.

Big box discount stores are perfect for stockpiling but I don't suggest that you start there because you are probably going to waste money on things that you don't really use. Over the past year, my purchases have changed dramatically. It is unusual for me to purchase prepared foods anymore so I need basic supplies that I never would have envisioned myself buying in bulk before. I also run into trouble at those stores because I see something that I want (but don't necessarily need) at a really great price and have to have an internal fight with myself over purchasing said bargain (and I admit it, it hurts a little when I have to say 'no' to myself).

One last word. Go to the grocery store with a list and stick to the list. This is of utmost importance. Don't bring your kids with you if you can avoid it. Go alone. Know how much you can spend and don't go over that amount. Aim for bringing money home. I use cash which I keep in an envelope. I always try to have cash left over. Allow yourself plenty of time to compare prices, bring a calculator if you need to. The rule in our house is, if it's not on the list, I don't buy it. I control the list. Most requests are placed on the list but unnecessary items that are costly are edited off or substituted. Use your discretion. Just stick to your list. Your bank account will thank you.

Blessings,

Karen

Saturday, August 23, 2008

On My Soapbox About Soda Pop

Stop drinking soda regularly. Not only is it costing you money but it's also not very good for you. Treat soda like it was meant to be, liquid candy. Use it as a treat not as a form of rehydration.

Sure I like to have a soda once in awhile. Dr. Pepper is a personal favorite of mine. But I don't drink it daily. Maybe once a week now. You know what I do drink a lot of? Water! Almost exclusively. Once in awhile, after I've had at least 8 glasses of plain water, I will put some Crystal Light-like flavoring into a glass of water. But even that only happens once in awhile.

Get yourself a Britta or a Pur pitcher and keep it filled and chilled in your refrigerator. Once you starting drinking water almost exclusively you will actually start to like drinking water. I have several refillable jugs that fit into my car cup holders and we carry water with us everywhere. I'm healthier and have more money because of this simple, good for me, good for the environment, healthy habit. And just think of what a great example it is for your kids!

There are oodles of research on the health hazards of both sugar & diet soda. I think we drink entirely too much of the stuff. I used to be an official addict (my husband is still working on his soda addiction). Even at the generic brand prices you're throwing away money with soda and adding to the trash/waste that pollutes our earth. Water is free (or just about). It is good for you. It can help to keep you healthy. It can save you money by keeping the doctor away. No one gets diabetes from drinking water. You can't become overweight from drinking water. Drinking water from refillable containers is better for the environment too. Much less waste than a soda can. Less energy used to process the water too.

What a simple way to help yourself, your pocketbook and the environment. Just switch to drinking water from refillable containers. You don't have to give up soda and juices and other drinks entirely, just use them appropriately.

xx steps off soapbox xx



*cheers*

Karen

Just a Starting Message

fru·gal
ˈfrugəl/[froo-guhl]
–adjective
1.
economical in use or expenditure; prudently saving or sparing; not wasteful: a frugal manager.
2.
entailing little expense; requiring few resources; meager; scanty: a frugal meal.

That's me! I'm frugal and proud of it. I didn't used to be this way. We used to have a great income. Then my husband was laid off. Although he found a new job with fantastic benefits, it just doesn't pay anywhere near what he used to earn. I am a stay-at-home-mom and that is not going to change. So we had to make a lot of changes in our lifestyle. Surprisingly, we're happier now than we were before. We have control over our money, it no longer controls us.

In this blog I am hoping to share with you realistic tips and tricks about how you can be frugal too. Don't misunderstand, I'm not a cheapskate. But I don't like to give away our money unnecessarily. My husband works hard for that money and I'm going to do everything I can to keep as much of it as possible. I actually really enjoy getting a good bargain and avoiding spending money unnecessarily. It feels really good. It's a kind of rush that can be very addictive.

The first and best advice I can give you is to live on all cash! Get rid of those credit cards. Cut them up & cancel them. Then work Dave Ramsey's FPU (Financial Peace University) to pay off those credit cards. This sounds a lot harder than it really is. Once you make a budget and learn to live within that budget you'll be amazed at how much you were spending on just 'stuff' that you didn't need. You'll have control over your money and your life again.

The second bit of advice I would give is to 'get over yourself'. That's right. YOU are the problem. This was a very hard thing for me to admit, that I was the problem. I had to have those name brand diapers for my daughters. I swore that people would think less of me if my children were seen wearing cheap diapers. Get real! They hold pee & poop. Nothing more, nothing less. No one really cares what brand of pee & poop soaker-uppers your kids are wearing. And if they do, then they're not really the kind of people that you want to surround yourself with anyway!

Thirdly, I'd say 'take an inventory'. Find out what you really have. I have a big freezer in my garage & I know every single piece of food that's in there. You should know what's in your freezer also (and pantry, and fridge, and closets, and bank accounts, and medicine cabinet - you get the idea). Get organized! It will make your life so much easier and prevent you from purchasing unnecessary duplicates.

In this blog I will share recipes and tips with you that I have learned/discovered through trial and error. I hope you find it useful. If you have any tips/recipes/ideas/whatever you'd like to share please email me! I love to get new ideas!!!

Blessings!

Karen